Saturday, February 27, 2010

Kama Sutra Positions

The Kama Sutra is a famous part of Sanskrit Literature and is considered to be the standard work on love. A part of the Kama Sutra tackles the sexual behaviors of human as well as describes the types of men and women, and provides a detailed description on positions used in love making. The love making positions described in the Kama Sutra have become interpreted in a Tantric way, making the positions relevant to a spiritual practice.

There are five basic positions in the Tantric interpretation of the Kama Sutra:

- Man lying on his back with the woman on top
- Woman lying on her back with the man on top
- Man and woman both lying on their sides facing each other
- Woman with her back to the man
- Man and woman in seated positions, typically facing each other

Each of these positions may have several variations and are said to bring a vast array of sensations to all the different couples that have tried them. Different individuals are more inclined to try different positions detailed in the Kama Sutra. These positions may be classified into larger groups such as Sitting positions, Rear Entry positions, Standing Positions, and Role Reversal positions.

Sitting positions of the Kama Sutra comes in different varieties but generally involves both man and woman in a sitting position. Some of the common positions are The Tortoise, The Moneky, Crushing Spices, Striking, The Foot Yoke, The Svastika, The Swing, The Knot of Fame, and Victory. All of these positions have corresponding Hindu names that best describe the poses involved.

Some of the Kama Sutra positions that allow for rear entry are the dog, the Deer, the Gardabha, the Cat, the Wrestler, Aibha, Hastika, The Stride, One knot, and the Nagabandha. All of these positions involve the woman with her back facing the man.

The Kama Sutra positions that require both man and woman to stand during the act of love making are the Churning Curds, Face to Face, the Swing, Traivikrama, Tripadam, Veshta, the Palm, two palms, and the Janukurpara or the Knee Elbow.

Some positions described in the Kama Sutra are referred to as a reversal of roles for both men and women. These positions include the Upasripta or Natural, the Manthana or Churning, The Hula which is also known as the Double edged Knife, the Avamardana or Rubbing, the Piditaka or Pressing, the Nirghata or the Buffet, the Varahaghata or the Boar’s Blow, the Vrishaghata or the Bull’s Blow, the Chatakavilasa which is also referred to as the Sparrow Sport, the Samputa or the Jewel Case, the Seat of Sport or Lilasana, the Swan, the Upavitika or Sacred Thread, the Reversed or Viparitaka, and the Foot Yoke.

The positions described in the Kama Sutra are not limited to those listed here. If by chance you are interested in improving your sex life and increasing the pleasure you give your partner, you may consult with this famous work and perhaps even apply the spiritual aspects detailed in the book.

No comments:

Post a Comment